HISTORY & HERITAGE
Wiurila Manor has a long and unique history. Wiurila Manor is mentioned in historical records as early as the 15th century. At that time, Magnus Johansson till Wiorela owned the manor. Wiurila came into possession of the Armfelt family in 1787, and is still in their possession today.
Through the years and successive heirs, the Armfelt family had a great influence on Wiurila Manor. Each generation put its own stamp on its development, no more so than August Armfelt, son of Count Magnus Reinhold. During his time, Wiurila had a brick factory, sawmill, windmills, a dairy, distillery and the oldest known Finnish brewery.
Today’s Armfelt ancestors are focused on preserving Wiruila, while making it relevant for modern people. Come and explore the rich history at Wiurila!
The esteemed 19th century architect, Carl Ludvig Engel, was a German architect known for his Empire style. He designed many famous landmarks in Finland, including the Helsinki Cathedral and the main building of Helsinki University.
Engel was commissioned to design the façade of the agricultural and domestic wing by Magnus Reinhold Armfelt. Wiurila’s unique thick white columns are thanks to Magnus who declared Engel’s original slimmer column design “too insubstantial”. Magnus’s gusto for grandeur resulted in the proud and dominant white columns at Wiurila today. The buildings were completed 1835-45.
His father, August Philip Armfelt had previously ordered the first national architect of Finland, an Italian called Carlos Bassi, to design a new main building for Wiurila. Building work on the neoclassical mansion was completed in 1811.
ABOUT THE MANOR
Most of Wiurila Manor is open to the public, however some buildings remain private residences.
What were once animal stables and grain storage buildings now house Wiurila’s services –
The Grand Ballroom
Meeting & Dining Rooms
Info Centre & Shop
Horse Carriage & Home Museums
HORSE CARRIAGE & HOME MUSEUM
Wiurila has a unique Horse Carriage and Home museum, located above the Grand Ballroom. The many carriages are from different periods in history, with most being preserved over time by the Armfelt family. The Home museum displays furniture and household goods from the Manor house, offering a special insight into daily life over the generations.
Get a glimpse into times gone by with a guided tour of the museums!
THE ARMFELT HERITAGE
Amongst the Armfelt ancestors were Barons, Counts and prominent military figures. Several had friends in high places. And some were industrious entrepreneurs who brought many new enterprises to Wiurila.
In our Grand Ballroom, you can meet our ancestors dating back to 1787 through their portraits. And learn more about their lives through a guided Museum tour. They each brought something unique to Wiurila, and wrote their own chapter of its history.
COUNT AUGUST ARMFELT
A DESIGN-THINKING ENTREPRENEUR
Count August Magnus Gustav Armfelt [1826 – 1894] took over management of Wiurila at age 18, and solely inherited the estate when he was 31. It’s said that being the proprietor of Wiurila was not his life’s passion. But given the responsibility, he put all his energy and passion into it.
August was a man with his eye on the future. He brought new enterprises and prosperity to Wiurila. He purchased more land, and agriculture became the main source of income for the estate at the time. August also established a distillery, brewery, dairy and a dairy school at Wiurila. In addition, he commissioned a glass and brick factory on the estate – and some of Wiurila’s buildings were constructed using bricks made on site. Many of the goods produced were exported to parts of Europe on Wiurila’s own ships.
Wiurila was at its peak during Count August’s era. His entrepreneurial attitude transformed Wiurila and made it thrive. August’s visionary spirit continues to be an inspiration at Wiurila today!
COUNTESS “VAVA” ARMFELT
A GRAND INTERNATIONAL LIFE
Countess Adelaide Gustava Aspasia Armfelt [1801 – 1881], often known as Vava, came to Wiurila in an unusual manner. She married her cousin, Count Magnus Reinhold Armfelt. But they weren’t only cousins – Vava was the illegitimate child of her husband’s uncle. Her mother, Princess Wilhelmine, the Duchess of Sagan, had a relationship with Gustav Mauritz Armfelt.
When Vava married her cousin Magnus, she brought with her to Wiurila an international background and cultural influences. She also brought money. Her mother gave her a large sum, which she quickly invested into decorating Wiurila. New paint and wallpaper went up, new ovens were ordered and a balcony commissioned – and she purchased late-Empire style furniture decorated in red silk. The interior design was impressive for its time. Vava brought colour, life and culture to Wiurila. During her era, Wiurila was a truly splendid manor.
Vava Armfelt left a legacy of grand living and enjoyment at Wiurila. Her perspective to “make the best of things” and enjoy life through art, culture and pleasure influences Wiurila to this day.
COLONEL VON ESSEN
AWARDED MILITARY FIGURE
Colonel Hans-Olof von Essen [1900 – 1973] is a well-known Finnish military figure and an Armfelt ancestor. His mother Saga was born at Wiurila and was one of the many daughters of August Armfelt. Hans-Olof had a decorated military career, serving as a military agent in Warsaw, Prague and Bucharest. he was in charge of the JR 26 during the Winter War, and in charge of the Uudenmaan raakunarykmentti during the Continuation War.
For his exemplary military service, he was awarded a Mannerheim Cross – the most esteemed Finnish military decoration. He is Knight of the Mannerheim Cross no. 30. He was also an equestrian enthusiast and avid sportsman, having represented Finland in the Equestrian events in the 1928 Summer Olympics.
From January, Wiurila will be open by reservation during wintertime for meetings, parties, private dining in the Colonel’s Cabinet and stays in our Guest House.
CONNECT WITH US
+358 400 121 900
FIND YOUR WAY
24910 Halikko, Finland
Wiurila | Viurilantie 126, 24910 Halikko | Y-tunnus 2211358-3 | +358 400 121 900 | firstname.lastname@example.org | www.wiurila.fi | © 2018 by Bullerobong Oy Ab