HISTORY & HERITAGE
Wiurila Manor has a long and unique history. Wiurila Manor is mentioned in historical records as early as the 15th century. At that time, Magnus Johansson till Wiorela owned the manor. Wiurila came into possession of the Armfelt family in 1787, and is still in their possession today.
Through the years and successive heirs, the Armfelt family had a great influence on Wiurila Manor. Each generation put its own stamp on its development, no more so than August Armfelt, son of Count Magnus Reinhold. During his time, Wiurila had a brick factory, sawmill, windmills, a dairy, distillery and the oldest known Finnish brewery.
Today’s Armfelt ancestors are focused on preserving Wiruila, while making it relevant for modern people. Come and explore the rich history at Wiurila!
The esteemed 19th century architect, Carl Ludvig Engel, was a German architect known for his Empire style. He designed many famous landmarks in Finland, including the Helsinki Cathedral and the main building of Helsinki University.
Engel was commissioned to design the façade of the agricultural and domestic wing by Magnus Reinhold Armfelt. Wiurila’s unique thick white columns are thanks to Magnus who declared Engel’s original slimmer column design “too insubstantial”. Magnus’s gusto for grandeur resulted in the proud and dominant white columns at Wiurila today. The buildings were completed 1835-45.
His father, August Philip Armfelt had previously ordered the first national architect of Finland, an Italian called Carlos Bassi, to design a new main building for Wiurila. Building work on the neoclassical mansion was completed in 1811.
ABOUT THE MANOR
Most of Wiurila Manor is open to the public, however some buildings remain private residences.
What were once animal stables and grain storage buildings now house Wiurila’s services –
The Grand Ballroom
Meeting & Dining Rooms
Info Centre & Shop
Horse Carriage & Home Museums
HORSE CARRIAGE & HOME MUSEUM
Wiurila has a unique Horse Carriage and Home museum, located above the Grand Ballroom. The many carriages are from different periods in history, with most being preserved over time by the Armfelt family. The Home museum displays furniture and household goods from the Manor house, offering a special insight into daily life over the generations.
Get a glimpse into times gone by with a guided tour of the museums!
Experience the history of the Wiurila Manor and many of its artefacts! Visit the unique Horse Carriage & Home museums on a guided tour.
Price 9€/person, min. 10 people
The guided tour begins in the medieval church in Halikko & the Armfelt cemetery, followed by a delicious lunch in the Grand Ballroom and a guided visit of the museums.
Price 49€/person, min. 20 people
Learn about Wiurila’s architectural history & unique buildings, designed by famed architect C.L Engel. Your guide will provide many interesting facts along this tour!
Price 9€/person, min. 10 people
Bistro, shop and museum now open!
We open our doors on Saturday 21.4.2018
Sat 21.4 & Sun 22.4: 11.00 - 15.00
Sat 28.4 & Sun 29.4: 11.00 - 15.00
*Subject to weather conditions
Tues – Fri: 11.00 – 17.00
Saturdays: 11.00 - 20.30
Sundays: 11.00 – 15.00
June, July, August
Mon – Fri: 11.00 – 18.00
Saturdays: 11.00 – 20.30
Sundays: 11.00 – 17.00
*Special Bistro opening hours:
Tues 1.5. Vappu 11.00 – 17.00
Thurs 10.5. Ascension Day 11.00 – 17.00
Sun 13.5. Mother’s day 11.00 – 15.00
Fri 22.6. Midsummer 11.00 – 18.00
Sat 23.6. Midsummer 11.00 - 20.30
CONNECT WITH US
+358 400 121 900
FIND YOUR WAY
24910 Halikko, Finland
Wiurila | Viurilantie 126, 24910 Halikko | Y-tunnus 2211358-3 | +358 400 121 900 | firstname.lastname@example.org | www.wiurila.fi | © 2018 by Bullerobong Oy Ab